Reminiscence of a Car Crash(ed) and What’s Left After

I can’t really think that well right now; my head is still a bit shaken up right now.
It’s hard to find the right words to explain how I’m feeling.
Tonight was the first time I’ve been in a car accident.
And I totaled my car. The front end, completely crumpled. I haven’t been able to get the smell of the crash, the frustration and the feeling of having no control out of my mind. It all happened so fast; 50 mph, the red tail lights, the braking, the skidding and the impact.
The rain that never let up today, which inevitably led to this crash, and many others.
Luckily, no one was hurt; the official report reads: 0 injured, 0 killed.
It was just a fender-bender, a rear-ended accident, yet it seems like so much more.
Hours pass by and it feels like it happened ten, five, one minute ago.
Surreal pales to explain it; did that really happen?
People stopping at the site, and leaving again. Who was even there? Who saw what really happened?
It’s only my perception versus theirs.
I wonder where that woman lives. If she has a family.
That man with a broom; he swept up the debris into a neat, tiny pile.
And when I think about those five seconds after we hit and while the airbag went off, I didn’t know what was going to happen.
Crying on the side of the road, I realized this could only be one thing; a warning. A wake-up call.
Just because things aren’t going the way you want them to, doesn’t mean they aren’t going how they’re supposed to.
And after all of this is over, I realize that I have been given a second chance.
The fault for the crash lies with no one. It’s something that just happened.
I need to get my life together and this was a gift to shake me and wake me from the anxious thoughts floating around my head.
Be happy for the little things that go right each and every day. Be grateful for the precious life you’ve been given.
Be more self-less, listen to others more. Be happy to wake up to another beautiful day. Live your dreams, love your life, and show others just how much you love & care for them.
Because in the big picture of life, the ones you love & care about are the only things that matter.

;

Be well & remember I love you too,
Rococo

Leave a Reply!

